about my family treasure

hunterx

Aug 20, 2011
I have spent 12 weeks researching the location of my family treasure.

luckly, we found some clues. the treasure is the gold which is about 120-160 pounds and buried at about 5-7 feet underground and installed in the sheepskin wallets for about 130 years.

I have never used a metal detector before, but according to my observation, most metal detector are designed to detect the coin which is just buried in the superficial layers.

I want to know which type of the matel detector can find my treasure... ::)

Upvote 0

Swartzie

Mar 15, 2009
Tuscarawas County, Ohio
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I'm not familiar with them, but I would say you need a two-box unit. The kind people use to search for caches. Large targets deep in the ground.

-Swartzie

Tuberale

Gold Member
May 12, 2010
Portland, Oregon
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro
Any metal detector will find your treasure ... if it is close enough.

Most treasures would not be 5-7 feet deep as you state. Sounds more like a gravesite.

You need to look at either a Pulse/Induction detector, or a 2-box detector/magnetometer. The pulse/induction will detect any metal object up to 1200 feet deep. It will not discriminate (to my knowledge) between a bobby pin and 100 pounds of gold; between a nail and a gold ring.

If there really is that much weight of gold, it should signal over a wider area, though.

gleaner1

Silver Member
Feb 1, 2009
Gateway to the 1000 Islands
Detector(s) used
Sometime(s)
Primary Interest:
Other
The vast majority of caches are buried no more than armpit reach, and most of these are within elbow reach and I bet your family treasure is gone by now.

bojangles

Tenderfoot
Jan 12, 2006
Detector(s) used
Geo Western EM83, Maxi Pulse Plus, Maxi Pulse 5000, Mother Load Locator (Resistivity), Whites UL-3, Magnum Force 25" deep seeking coil, Jeo Hunter, Minelab Excalibur, Bounty Hunter Quicksilver, PDF1000, PPL