Just signed on, been at it awhile tho

leadhead2

Sep 18, 2011
fascinating reading here in all the different forums , being a newbie here.
Been detecting off and on since the teen age years ,, old age now .

Wanted to complement everyone on this site with all their stories ,
At this point in time I have an original Gold Bug ... think I just got it working again , also a Minelab sovereign xs2-pro I inherited from my father in law from England (it got a lot of use )
and it still works and least but not last ..... the company I work for just came into half a dozen Fisher TW-6's that were given to the out fit from the local repair service ( the owner passed a way and his widow gave them to us !)
so guess who has one right now out in his truck .
We do natural gas utilities work and use the smaller two box Goldaks and the line locating Metrotech's
So the plan is when I can afford it , to pick up a handle for the official two box arrangement for the Fisher's since they do not come with them and start trying it out .....

Been so busy with life , the detecting thing has gone by the wayside lately as with the prospecting also , live here in the Carson City area of northern Nevada .
It is such a play ground with all the history around for detecting , including Lake Tahoe .....

The strangest thing that ever happened tho is a few years back , out on a job site in town , we were putting in a new gas main down a street that happened to be the original railbed for the V+T railroad years back , we were standing around talking , getting organized and I looked down and spotted the edge of a coin ... picked it up .... little heavier than normal .... little bigger than normal.... looked closer ... 1896 ten dollar gold piece ! ... wow !
All the years been out detecting ... never found any thing this nice with a detector and here I go and pick one up off the ground .