Crappy hearing and metal detectors

B

Booby

Newbie here. I would like to know if some of you have tinnitis (ringing in the ears) and how it may or may not effect you using head phones. What decipel are the sounds for nugget detecting? Maybe I can figure it out if I can determine what decipel my ears ring at? About 8 years ago I bought a White Goldmaster II, but have never learned how to use it, other than to find bottle caps. I'll be retiring in about 8 months and itching to start doing some detectin'. All the help I can get would sure be appreciated. Thanks in advance. Booby

Upvote 0
OP
OP
B

Booby

Besides having crappy hearing, I'm a little brain dead too. I meant to say what tone is the signal? High pitch, medium, low? Sorry :-[

Cladius

Mar 8, 2004
Hey booby make yourself a test plot with the stuff you want to find (change, siver, gold, through in some trash) and practice detecting the area to learn what sounds like what to your ears and machine. No one can tell you what stuff will sound to your ears if you have a hearing problem.

OP
OP
B

Booby

Claudius thanks for your reply. Thats a great idea. All I need is 8 AA's and I'll give it a shot. If my test fails I guess I will just have to stick with panning, sluicing, and maybe some dredging. My intentions is to find something a little easier on my body. But if I succeed then I just may have to upgrade to maybe an mxt or minelab! Thanks again, Booby

OP
OP
B

Booby

Thats Cladius.....Cladius....Cladius. Sorry, Booby

Gretchen

Aug 2, 2004
Booby,