Metal Detectors for Logs

mikej7193

Nov 27, 2011
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I found this site, which has helped answer a few questions about metal detecting. I am planning on getting a metal detector in the next few months that I plan on using to scan logs before milling (to find the nails and screws before the blade does!)

I also may find that metal detecting is fun and I want to expand past searching in wood. So I have a few questions, and I am not trying to start any big debates. Just understand that I am an absolute newbie and may ask questions incorrectly.

1. How deep can a standard 8" coil detect a 2" nail inside a log? One way if anyone had the time to help test this would be to stick a small nail under a couple pieces of wood to determine if it can penetrate well enough to give me a 3 or 4 inch area where the nail is at. Just for reference, I do not really plan on getting logs larger than 14-16" diameter.

2. What would the best, cheapest metal detector be? The three that I see come up often in threads are the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505, the Discovery 3300, and and the Garrett Ace 250. I would like to spend no more than $150 including shipping, and I am perfectly okay with a used detector. Also, what are the differences between the 505 and the 3300? I couldn't find anything directly comparing the two.

3. How difficult would it be to find something in the wood, and use a discriminator to determine if it is soft enough to saw through, like lead?

Finally, if you have any advice or comments that I didn't ask for, I am open to ideas and suggestions. Thanks. I hope these items haven't been covered too much. I tried searching, but I do not know the proper terms to use to find answers to these.

Upvote 0

Lowbatts

Gold Member
Jul 1, 2003
Elgin
Detector(s) used
Fishers 1235X-8" CZ-20/21-8" F-70-11"DD GC1023