I want to get into metal detecting... Can you folks give me some advise?

BuffaloBoy

Gold Member
Feb 16, 2011
America
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello all, first off, let me introduce myself.

I have been(and I still am) an avid coin collector. I have been collecting coins since I was 6 years old.
I also love history, and for background info, I am located in the eastern part of America.

I was wondering what a good beginner detector is for me, as I have NEVER been metal detecting before. I would however, love to get into metal detecting.

I know there are many good sites that sell name brand metal detectors. I do want to buy a decant name brand one, not too expensive though. (one perfect for beginners, but also great for experianced metal detectors as well)

I have been doing a lot of research lately on metal detecting, but it all seems confusing to me. Can anybody help?

Thank you, and I hope everybody has a wonderful New Year's!!!
BuffaloBoy

Upvote 0

Cranman

Dec 1, 2011
Central NC
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
My advice, for what it's worth as a beginner myself, would be to find a decent used detector and try it out for a few times to be sure you really like the hobby. It's sometimes not as fun as you might think at first, trying to find a good spot to detect, digging alot of trash, nails, pull tabs etc. But when you find cool stuff and know that it's something you want to continue doing, then you can spend a little on a better detector.

If you really want to buy a new one, I hear alot of good things about the Garrett Ace 250 and Ace 350's. I wish I had got one, but I got a good deal on a Whites detector that seems to work ok.

goldentruth

Nov 3, 2011
French Gulch, North Calif.
Detector(s) used
"WHITES" GOLDMASTER "GMT" & "TESORO GOLDEN SABRE II" with silent search.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting