What detector for Gold?For coins,for general use?

roadrunner

Bronze Member
Jan 28, 2012
Pinal Mountains,Arizona
Detector(s) used
Garrett Groundhog-2012-1st MD.
White's Goldmaster V/Sat-2nd-MD-2013
Tesoro Lobo-2015-3rd
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hello,this is my first post after joining.I am new to this.I have built a sluice,and have been panning.Just started 2 weeks ago.
I am from Arizona.We have lots of minerals,and copper,ect in our ground.I have read through the MD models forums.
My question,what would be a good or decent MD to start with that would work with my ground,primarily for gold.

Next,is there a big difference between MD for gold,and coins.Say for instance i was searching primarily for gold,but came across an old abandoned farm house.Would the same MD work for coins,and relics.

There is a person who has an older Whits coinmaster 6000 DI series 2,hip mount.The guy says it works,but the needle is not working corectly.I am going to call whites and see if it is fixable first.But could get it for $30.00.

So,any ideas on a basic first time user MD.I have checked amazon,ebay,ect.I also saw someone state to use a VLF in this forum.Amazon has a VLF,Bounty HUnter,but it does not have an headphone jack.

I am also planning on building a drywasher.I have my own construction company,can weld,have a lathe,ect.
I bought the book Finding Gold in the desert by Otto Lynch.
And Gold panning is easy by Roy Lagal.

Upvote 0

SMILEIE

Jan 19, 2012
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting