Needing help with metal detecting

C

CornBread

Hello there all.
I have to say ive been into watching/hearing about panning/metal detecting/mining. It just seems so fun that I have to try it :D.
Although I live in Illinois I have no clue where to go. Plus I need help chosing a metal detector...Im looking for a nice cheap good metal detector for a newbie like myself.
I should include school is coming again (winter break is ending) so im going to do this in the summer, but I would like to know what to do instead of being clueless later.

Upvote 0
J

jim c

welcome cornbread,I'm new to this Hobie to and just recently purchased a Garrett ace 250 for199.00 came with head phones carry bagand a two pocket coin,trash bag+free shipping from e-bay-i think it to be the best detector for the money,but i just a newbie and this my first real detector

OP
OP
C

CornBread

Thanks for all the info..
Problem living in Illinois is where to hunt...Especially in a suburb area...
Plus..Im kind of low on money so I can wait for my Metal Detector :D (About 100 dollars :D..What kind of Metal Detector could I get?)

To bad I live in IL, I really want to try Sludge/Panning.

cmlmich

Dec 10, 2004
Hi Cornbread.....I have to agree with JimC....I also bought the Garrett Ace 250 for $199. If you can't scrape together the extra $99 for a better quality one now...you really should wait until you can before you buy one. If you get one that is too inexpensive, then you run the risk of getting one that won't provide you with the results you need to keep you interested. I think you will sacrifice not only overall quality...but also depth with a less expensive model. Before I bought mine..I was only going to spend $100 also....after talking to many people..I decided to spend the extra and get a good quality one. Just my two cents....good luck to you whichever way you go.

Bob B.

Oct 27, 2004