Is it Worth Metal Detecting?

Sterling in Va

Feb 28, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to metal detecting and have been trying to figure out where to metal detect. I live in Chesterfield Va, just outside of Richmond. With all of the rich history around here, I was just wondering if hunting some woods near my house is worthwhile. From what I know, there were no civil war battles/skirmishes in this part of the county, and the area appears to have previously been farmland 100 years ago. Are these woods worth detecting or will I be wasting my time?
Thanks.

Upvote 0

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
First welcome to Tnet forums.

We don't metal detect for profit. Most of us detect just to find stuff from the ground and we do it for the fun of discovery. We learn the history of an area, and even farm tools are a treasure to us if we had never found that kind before. Your woods might not have seen any Recorded Civil War action, but somebody in the past could have lost something there or even buried a cache near a certain tree. Look for square nails in the bottom of large limbs as it might have held a plum bob to mark where a cache could be.

If you are worried about wasting your time you might be in the wrong hobby. It is the expectation of what we might find that is the reward. When you detect with a buddy you will argue about who found the first penny.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2