Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Has your hearing declined from detecting with headphones??

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    us
    Nov 2008
    North Texas
    Ace 250, AT Pro
    152 times
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting
    Honorable Mentions (1)

Has your hearing declined from detecting with headphones??

Just curious if others have had the same issue. My detector isn't loud enough in the wind, so I always use my headphones. Don't even have them loud. Seems like the ringing in my ears is getting much worse. Anyone else have this problem? Tinnitus is really annoying!!
    What?? Did you say something?? Speak up!

us
    Jan 2012
    New Mexico
    Minelab Equinox 800, E-trac
    46 times
    Metal Detecting

Re: Has your hearing declined from detecting with headphones??

I have been using a single headphone made by Rattler for about 3 months and I think it has helped. I keep the volume at about 50%. Of course, advancing years have some effect on overall hearing but I like the Rattler phone a lot. As a wise man once said, Time and gravity makes fools of us all!

us
    "Is that a Geiger Counter?"

Feb 2006
    South Central Upstate NY in the foothills of the headlands
    Minelab Musketeer Advantage Pro w/8" & 10" DD coils/Fisher F75se(Upgraded to LTD2) w/11" DD, 6.5" concentric & 9.5" NEL Sharpshooter DD coils/Sunray FX-1 Probe & F-Point/Black Widows/Rattler headphone
    11371 times
    Metal Detecting

Get a pair with limiting circuitry (Black Widows, for example) that won't blow out your eardrums.
    America was founded by tough hell-raisers. Rugged citizens who evaded taxes, spoke strongly against tyranny, grew tobacco, brewed beer, distilled spirits, and smuggled weapons. And it will be saved by those same types of citizens.

Jun 2007
    MA NH seacoast
    what ever works
    65 times

No but rockin in the 70s and 80s did not help.
    Treasure_Hunter likes this.

us
    Sep 2010