Older Garrett Metal Detector

hiller

Tenderfoot
Nov 15, 2009
Hello everyone,
This is my first time on this forum and I'm not an expert on this computer. I just turned 60 and I'm still trying to figure this thing out. Anyway, I have a question. I recently inherited a Garrett grand master hunter CXII with two crossfire search coils, one is 8 1/2", the other is 5x10" elliptical . It's in new never been used condition and has been kept in a carrying case. I think when it was bought it was Garrett's second to best detector. My question-I'd like to start detecting, I never did it before,would you guys and gals use this one or get a newer upgraded model. My concern is - I know anything that is electronic are always constantly upgraded and I believe this detector is at least 20 years old. Thanks in advance for any advice from anyone. HILLER

Upvote 0

U.K. Brian

Bronze Member
Oct 11, 2005
Detector(s) used
XLT, Whites D.F., Treasure Baron, Deepstar, Goldquest, Beachscan, T.D.I., Sovereign, 2x Nautilus, various Arado's, Ixcus Diver, Altek Quadtone, T2, Beach Hunter I.D, GS 5 pulse, Searchman 2 ,V3i
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would give it a go depending on where your going to be using it. I found the CX III (the upgrade to yours) to not like negatively mineralised clay areas. On the beach it wasn't the best either uless you stuck to the dry at the very top. On the plus side it had a very deep all metal non motion mode.

Its noisy compared to most modern detectors but you can tell good from bad and it responds quickly and allows you to pick up good items next to bad. Target masking by bad items can stop you hearing the good. The Garrett copes well.... the best seller detector of the time, the XLT didn't.

Hopefully it will be stable and still manage respectable depths. Things have advanced, weight, battery life etc but it was a high end detector of its day (1997/1998 ?) so should still compete against lower end modern machines.

Best of luck !

G.A.P.metal