Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300

Faithracer

Apr 10, 2012
Minerva, OH
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Dscry 3300
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Heard the Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300 was a great detector, read a dozen of the 64 "5 star" ratings from Amazon buyers, and bought one for $230. This is my first detector and I was curious if anyone out there has any comments on it.

I know there are a lot of settings I need to go over, but I couldn't wait, so I went out at night and in 20 minutes had my first 3 finds: a penny, an old matchbox car, and a can tab. The Pinpoint option seems to work great and is really cool. Anyway, I'm new to it and any tips are always greatly appreciated!

One thing I just found about my new home, it's exactly where bunch of Gold were supposedly lost. The story checks out and I have 9 acres right between the 2 cities where it was lost (it was hidden between the 2 cities after they saw a enemy patrol, and of the 2 surviving soldiers, they supposedly passed down clues) and supposedly between 2 springs. Tomorrow I will be out between the 2 springs we just happen to have on our land. I don't think my wife will be so mad about the detector purchase if found!! LOL

God Bless!

Upvote 0

Engine24

Apr 17, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nice detector for the money. I have one and found that it's easy to use and set-up. Lots of false readings (typically 199) if you don't have it calibrated correctly for your soil. One thing about the 3300 and gold- it reads as junk metal sometimes, so be careful in DM. I'd stick with AM with the 3300. I'm not an expert, but that's been my experience. Good luck!

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I bought one back when they were still $89 I believe. It was okay for what I used it for. I made more than my money back in finds and sold it for double what I paid for it about a year and a half or so later.