Im new to this...Bounty Hunter Land Star -VS- Land Ranger?

P

Pisces

I'm new to this...Bounty Hunter Land Star -VS- Land Ranger?

Hi all,

I am totally new to metal detecting- and I going to be purchasing my new metal detector very soon.
Although I have heard that White's is the absolute best-- I have decided to go with a Bounty Hunter for my very first detector.

Here are a few questions that I have:

Is the Bounty Hunter brand a good and effective metal detector?
I am looking for a detector to hunt everything: coins, jewelry, gold, relics, etc...

I am trying to decide between the Land Star and the Land Ranger.

The Land Ranger is more expensive-- does that mean that it is a ~better~ unit than the Land Star?

Would the Land Ranger be too complicated to use for a beginner? Someone told me that the Land Star is easier to use for a beginner.

Would the Land Ranger detect deeper than the Land Star?

They are both rated as *professional* on the Bounty Hunter website.

And...two other general questions: Can you legally metal detect around old ghost towns and mining camps?
...Can you metal detect inthe winter/ snow/ frozen ground?

Thanks very much in advance for your help! :lol: :lol:

Upvote 0

Cal G.

Mar 19, 2003

Land Star vs Land Ranger the depth will be close, but you get way more features with the Land Ranger. It is probably a better buy than the Time Ranger. I have used a Land Star for several years and have found several thousand coins. It is a good machine in my part of the country, but I still think you would be more please with Land Ranger. I believe the numerical #'s work in all-metal also. JMHO Cal PS go to www.detecting.com for the BH bulletin board. There alot of nice folks there and they will help you.

MDnoob

Apr 23, 2003