Nixa, Missouri
Detector(s) used
Minelab CTX 3030,
Garrett AT Pro,
Garrett GTAX 550,
Fisher gold bug 2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
??? So I have been enjoying this hobby for about 5 years now and over the last 3 I have become more and more frustrated with the lack of good solid finds. I am currently and have been using since I started the hobby the Garrett 550 GTAX. I will not dispute that it is great at finding spare change but when it comes to jewelry and other metals it is so erratic and doesn't seem to tell the difference between a rusty old nail and a gold ring. Therefore to this day I have only found a few pieces of sterling jewelry and one gold earring and The only reason I found them was because they were so close to the surface i was able to just kick the dirt away to reveal them. So what I'm trying to get at is can someone recommend a good solid brand detector that surpasses most when it comes to finding jewelry. I'm only looking to spend around $800 i would like to go less if possible and I would be willing to buy used. Can anyone recommend a good jewelry & gold detector? :BangHead:

Upvote 0

TerryC

Gold Member
Jun 26, 2008
Yarnell, AZ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250 (2), Ace 300, Gold Bug 2, Tesoro Cortes, Garrett Sea Hunter, Whites TDI SL SE, Fisher Impulse 8, Minelab Monster 1000, Minelab CTX3030, Falcon MD20, Garrett Pro-pointer, Calvin Bunker digger.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting