Difference in frequencies

dirtydude

Sep 5, 2006
Northwest Georgia
Detector(s) used
White's 6000 Di Pro sl
I am fairly new to md'ing and was wondering what the difference is in different frequency in different detectors. The DFX from whites says it has 3 kHz or 15 kHz or use both together.The Tesoro Tejon is a 17.5 kHz frequency and is said to be a good relic hunting machine. What I don't understand is, is a higher frequency better for hunting relics and why if so, and what are lower frequency detectors good at finding? Or does it really matter? Thanks for any help

Upvote 0

bakergeol

Bronze Member
Feb 4, 2004
Colorado
Detector(s) used
GS5 X-5 GMT
I really hate it when no one responds to a thread. Here is my 2 cents.
Don't worry about frequency unless you are gold nugget hunting.

The following below is by Steve H.

"The higher the operating frequency of the detector, the more sensitive it will be to small gold, but with the penalty of also being more sensitive to iron minerals. This can result in more false signaling and difficulty of operation in highly iron mineralized areas. Lower frequency detectors are generally less sensitive to small nuggets, but handle iron ground better. Frequencies on today's nugget detectors range from a low of 6.4kHz to a high of 71kHz. Pulse induction (PI) detectors are a special type of unit that act like they are extremely low frequency detectors. PI detectors main strength is in ignoring the worst ground mineral conditions and finding large gold nuggets at maximum depths."

High frequency detectors are more sensitive for very small metal(50-60 kHz) whereas lower frequency detectors have better depth for larger objects.