Semi-noob here. Garrett Ace 350 Q- Too much junk, also interference from rocky rivers

Goldmoon

May 6, 2012
BC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 350, Ironclad "Viking" Digger
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I am hoping to get some advice here, I wield a Garret Ace 350 Euro...

Question #1:

I seem to find a ton of bottle caps & soda can tabs. I think if I discriminate them out, I will also lose gold & silver jewelry too.
It seems to come up in the same range. Its just a pain because every 2 feet you walk, there is a bottle cap.

Question #2:

I have been looking for gold in a river which is known for nuggets, but as I'm going through it seems to beep all over the place even though there is nothing there.
I figured going into the mountains looking for gold; away from the junk would help me avoid false signals.

Any help would be appreciated, I'm sure lots of you have experienced these issues.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

dustytrails123

Bronze Member
Apr 14, 2012
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer Se Pro,Garrett At/Pro,Garrett Ace 350,Tesoro Cibola,Tesoro Outlaw,Bounty Hunter SharpShooter 2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your trying to pospect with the wrong machine its not ment for gold

OP
OP
Goldmoon

Goldmoon

May 6, 2012
BC
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 350, Ironclad "Viking" Digger
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
It picks up even a pinhead sized piece of gold so it can't be that bad for prospecting, but I get a lot of interference from rocks. It did say it can be used for prospecting on their website, even though its not specifically for it.

Blskypilot

Jan 24, 2012
Detector(s) used
Infinium ls
At pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting