moxacaine

Tenderfoot
May 22, 2012
VA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Ive lurked for a little while but finally decided to sign up. I live in Northern VA and have a tough time finding spots to hunt (open to suggestions and hunting partners). Im still a newb as i recently bought my Garrett Ace 250 (still learning to use it) last fall and have only been out a few times. The only time i ever get out is when i head up to PA to hunt with my buddy (newb also). I am heading up there this weekend for the holiday and we have permission to hunt the Isle of Que in Selinsgrove, PA on the Susquehanna River. Its history goes back to as far as the early 1600s as an Indian village. Although finding any Indian artifacts with a metal detector is unlikely but there have been many other settlers on this land after them. The only downside is that being on the river it has been subjected to many years of numerous floods so im sure the junk will pile up. But may just be worth the effort. My buddy also has an old mill site he wants to hit but i am not sure where that is at. I'll update my trip Sunday or Monday.

Thanks for the read and happy hunting.

Upvote 0

eathabs

Bronze Member
Jan 11, 2005
Sunbury, PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 300, Classic ID
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Lots of history in this area. The Isle of Que was mostly under water this past September so you are correct in that there will be plenty of junk. If you get out in the big farmed field you might get lucky and score some arrowheads. Once you are done hunting you may want to check out the Selin's Grove Brewing company. Also look into Taste of Philly for some great eats. selinsgrovebrewing.com tasteofphillyselinsgrove.com

Enjoy!!habs

eathabs

Bronze Member
Jan 11, 2005
Sunbury, PA
Detector(s) used
DFX 300, Classic ID
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting