When to dig and when not to dig?

kywildcat

May 27, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Im a newbie and I have a question for all the experts. I have a Whites Coinmaster. I get small signals and occasionally longer signals. They all say there is something there even when I pin point it, but most of the time it says its 6-8 inches deep. I must be doing something wrong with my digging, because even if I dig right there 10 inches deep I cant find anything. This happens with every hole I dig. I just cant seem to find the object when digging. Am I misinterpreting the tones? Digging Wrong? what? It seems like a simple concept, but Im having all kinds of trouble. Please help me.

Upvote 0

spartacus53

Banned
Jul 5, 2009
Whiting, NJ
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I haven't a clue about your specific detector, but if you are getting a reading there is some type of metal there, so dig. Another thing, the pin pointer may not be true dead center on your machine, maybe it's closer to the heel :dontknow:

I would practice at home just to get an idea of different coin tones and while you're at it check to see how it lays in regards to the pin pointer.

Good luck :thumbsup:

MickeyMaguire

Apr 26, 2012
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT-Pro, Ace 300, Ace 250, PP-AT, PP II, F-Pulse
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
What you need is a Garrett Propointer. It will make things MUCH EASIER.

Happy Harry

Feb 15, 2008
San Mateo County California
Detector(s) used
ACE250,Infinium LS
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sounds as if pinpointing is the bugaboo here. Set up a treasure garden or just place coins in the yard so they are visable. Pass your detector over them. Determine where they are located under the coil when you get the best tone/response. It will be in that position that you find the buried metal/coins. NOW DIG! and have fun. HHHH

Srhoads

Apr 26, 2012
Rantoul, IL
Detector(s) used
White's Coinmaster Pro
Bounty Hunter Tracker IV