Need some advice

SouthernEMT

Jun 17, 2012
Hilton Head Island
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Hey everyone, I am very new at this and I'm looking to purchase my first MD sometime in the near future. The thing is I have no idea what I need to be looking for in one. I live by the ocean and I believe beaches will be my primary "hunting grounds", I also do some diving so I would like something that would work both on the beach and underwater. My second concern is money, I don't want to break the bank with my first MD but I also want it to last for a couple of years. If anyone can help me out I would truly appreciate it.

Upvote 0

zenman

Jul 15, 2010
Palm Beach County Florida
Detector(s) used
IconData unit

Aquapulse AQ1B, TM-808 W/ Cave. Garrett Infinium LS, JW Fisher Pulse 8x, JW Fisher Diver Mag 1
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was asking same question. Most replied Garrett infinium ls or minelab ctx 3030. Garrett alot cheaper, can go to 200feet depth in water, ctx I'd state of art but $$$$ and only 10 feet depth in water.

Mzjavert

Silver Member
Oct 7, 2011
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Mark IV
Garrett Ace 350
Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
For the quality, price, and lifetime warranty you really can't beat Tesoro. I've never used my Sidewinder in salt water, but have used it on ocean beaches and had good luck. Even found a needle and syringe on a California beach. The needle was an insulin needle so it was tiny, tiny, tiny and I got a good signal on it. Anyway you should be very happy with a Sand Shark or Tiger Shark.

U.K. Brian

Bronze Member
Oct 11, 2005
Detector(s) used
XLT, Whites D.F., Treasure Baron, Deepstar, Goldquest, Beachscan, T.D.I., Sovereign, 2x Nautilus, various Arado's, Ixcus Diver, Altek Quadtone, T2, Beach Hunter I.D, GS 5 pulse, Searchman 2 ,V3i
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting