Fisher Gold Bug DP Coil Question

Kevinito

Greenie
Jul 1, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
All:

I am new to metal detecting and am going to dive head first into gold prospecting (being in the middle of gold country in Union County, North Carolina). I am in the process of purchasing the Gold Bug DP and it is my understanding that it comes with the 11" DD Coil; however, could I interchange a 5" Coil? What are the benefits and/or drawbacks AND what is the maximum depth for this detector AND what is the difference (if any) between the Gold Bug DP and the Gold Bug Pro?

Thanks!

Kevin

Last edited:
Upvote 0

woof!

Bronze Member
Dec 12, 2010
ciudadano del universo, residente de El Paso TX
Detector(s) used
BS detector
Primary Interest:
Other
For gold prospecting you'll probably do better with the 5 inch coil than the 11 incher. Depth depends on the size and metallic composition of the metal object: sub-grain nuggets maybe an inch or two, automobile several feet. DP and Pro are functionally the same thing, the difference is things you can see in the picture, a dealer can explain.

Since you're not already a grizzled prospector, I recommend that you read my book "Gold Prospecting with a VLF Metal Detector", which is available in .pdf on the Fisher and Teknetics websites. It'll help get you started off doing it right.

--Dave J.

OP
OP
K

Kevinito

Greenie
Jul 1, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
For gold prospecting you'll probably do better with the 5 inch coil than the 11 incher. Depth depends on the size and metallic composition of the metal object: sub-grain nuggets maybe an inch or two, automobile several feet. DP and Pro are functionally the same thing, the difference is things you can see in the picture, a dealer can explain.