whites 4900D

bigtruck68

Jul 24, 2012
Pittsburgh,Pa
Detector(s) used
whites xlt * minelab sovereign xs * whites 6000 DI Pro * musketeer xs * xp deus* etrac*tesoro vaquero *
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello , ive just gotten into MD and are using an old whites 4900D , im still learning this machine and my question is how does this machine stack up against say a whites 6000DI PRO ? i have a chance to buy one but if it isnt going to really be an upgrade other than it has a meter, ill pass on the deal. As i said before im new to this so any info will be appreciated,

Upvote 0

U.K. Brian

Bronze Member
Oct 11, 2005
Detector(s) used
XLT, Whites D.F., Treasure Baron, Deepstar, Goldquest, Beachscan, T.D.I., Sovereign, 2x Nautilus, various Arado's, Ixcus Diver, Altek Quadtone, T2, Beach Hunter I.D, GS 5 pulse, Searchman 2 ,V3i
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
It would be a real step up. Its not just the case of a meter, the GEB Max mode is way deeper, in fact all modes are deeper but the Max mode is even better. I'm fairly certain they had introduced ground tracking by the time of the Pro and that deals with the problem of the lower range Whites of needing re ground balancing fairly often.
The 6000 Di Pro could be as old as 1986 or 87 so knocking on a bit. If its not a good price I would look at getting a later 5900 Pro/Pro SL which I found as good but cheaper than the 6000 range.

jmoller99

Jan 8, 2010
Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT, Goldmaster Vsat, 5900, Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300 and Falcon MD-20.
Primary Interest:
Other