Johnny_T

Tenderfoot
Jul 23, 2012
Walla Walla
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 350
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I just bought a Garrett Ace 350 and just received it in the mail on Friday. I read the book, watched the DVD and went out to test it in my Dads Pasture. Now I know I am new to this and it will take practice. Working with keeping it an inch off the ground good sweeps and learning to use the pin pointer (on MD not the pro-pointer which I will get next payday) and also using the Sensitivity settings...

Anyhow I was wondering if I could get some advice. I have been noticing allot of hits on the screen, lots of Iron and I keep getting constant hits in the coin section for $0.50, $1, and $.25cents. The Detector says its 4 inches down or sometimes 8+. I dig and find nothing. I run the dirt through a Classifier I use for Gold Panning to make sure. I scan the hole again and it says 4inches again at the top and I check again still notta. So I widen the hole put the detector in the hole and it says 4 inches more.

Anyhow I have dug about 50 holes in the pasture and I find nothing in it but it keeps setting off the alarms. Does this sound like a faulty detector or the faulty user? I did find a silver Button today that was right where it said it would be. Not worth anything but an Old Memory my Grandpa used to use them to decorate his saddle. I know for a fact that if he dropped one or lost one he would of been pissed, He's gone now but it brought back a flood of memories.

So I guess I have to ask if it’s normal to get a lot of false positives, to dig a hole and find nothing but the hole and more dirt...

Last edited:
Upvote 0

chip12977

Jun 7, 2012
Duncansville,pa
Detector(s) used
Whites V3i
Whites PI Dual Field
Fisher f2 - sold
Whites DFX 300 - sold
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting