Got $150 bucks to spend on a newbie detector, looking for coinage, jewelry in dry TX

sheepdog_tx

Aug 4, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Upvote 0

WayneCountyDetector

Jul 25, 2012
Wayne County, Missouri
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Garrett Pro Pinpointer
BH Quicksilver
BH Pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
For $150 if you are firm on this, I would either go with Whites coinmaster or garrett ace 150. Possibly tesoro compadre they are a little more than your $150 though and don't have a digital display. I am fairly new to this but have done a lot of research on entry level detectors and these would probably do what you are wanting. Some of the other members will have a lot more info for you or maybe better recommendations.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Go to each manufacture's website and see what they offer. Prices will be about the same everywhere. Give Big Boy's Hobbies a call.

OP
OP
S

sheepdog_tx

Aug 4, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
For $150 if you are firm on this, I would either go with Whites coinmaster or garrett ace 150. Possibly tesoro compadre they are a little more than your $150 though and don't have a digital display. I am fairly new to this but have done a lot of research on entry level detectors and these would probably do what you are wanting. Some of the other members will have a lot more info for you or maybe better recommendations.

I was thinking the tesoro compadre was considered a sleeper pick on the cheap side. However its features seem.. well,.. basic. Why this over say a Ace 150 for coin shooting? My typical lot is goign to be a tot lot, farm field, or parks.

WayneCountyDetector

Jul 25, 2012
Wayne County, Missouri