Need some advise please.

Guitarman

Tenderfoot
Nov 22, 2006
Hi all. First time poster here.

I'm new to MD'ing. The wife bought me a BH EX for less than $100 at Wal-Mart for my birthday about a year ago. I took it to a local beach and the first time I found a 41 mercury dime along with about $2 in change. I thought, hey, this is allright!

Next trip to the same spot I found a 36 silver quarter. The next time, again same general spot, I found a 38 Silver Half Dollar (almost wet my pants with that one). Now I'm hooked.

I know this has been asked over and over, but your information is really helpful to those of us who are very new at this. I want to upgrade to another machine. I feel like I may be missing lots of other stuff.

I don't want to drop $600 or $800 on a MD, but I would like something that I can grow in to (maybe in the $200 - $500 range???). I will go more if I have to. I like versatility but also like simplicity (can't see myself pouring over thick manuals).

Since I live so close to the beach (Alabama Gulf Coast), I like to hunt saltwater beaches. I have only hunted in dry sand so far, but could see where I might want to take it to the water's edge and try it in wet sand. I don't ever see myself wading knee-deep in water. I like hunting for coins and jewelry. I also want something that is good on dry land as well.

Can you all make some suggestions for me? Any information would be appreciated. Thanks!

Upvote 0

urbss

Sep 15, 2005
Cresson, PA
Well, I will tell you that I really love my Ace 250, but I don't think that will help you. I've used mine at the beach and it does a great job in the dry sand.

I didn't do much in the wet sand only because I've heard too many times on this forum (from very experienced users) that the Ace doesn't perform well on the wet salt water sand. So, I didn't even bother trying since I only had limited amounts of time to detect when I was at the beach.