Welcome guest, is this your first visit?
Discoveries

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TNGUNS

Thread: Hey all newbie here from iowa.

« Prev Thread | Next Thread »
    us
    Oct 2012
    Oskaloosa, Iowa
    Harbor Freight Detector
    All Types Of Treasure Hunting

Hey all newbie here from iowa.

Hey all, new to the world of metal detecting, been trying to do some research but I have always found that the best kind is to just get out there and do it. Don't have a real fancy metal detector, just a harbor freight one, but seems I have got it working how it should. Anyone with any tips to make sure I pick up good habits and avoid the bad ones?

us
    Sep 2012
    Mississippi, Gulf coast
    Garrett AT PRO, Garrett Pro Pointer
    13 times
    Metal Detecting
    Quote Originally Posted by mhughes013
    Hey all, new to the world of metal detecting, been trying to do some research but I have always found that the best kind is to just get out there and do it. Don't have a real fancy metal detector, just a harbor freight one, but seems I have got it working how it should. Anyone with any tips to make sure I pick up good habits and avoid the bad ones?
    You'll pick up a lot of tips just by reading previous posts. I would say a few top tips would be:
    Go slow.
    Practice makes you more in tune with your detector.
    Dig everything at first, this makes you understand what your detectors saying (pull tab, silver, penny, dime, ring..)
    If you have discrimination on detector this will teach you what is good and isn't good. But even the $1,000 detectors sometimes say its junk, when it might be a silver bracelet for example.

Good luck

us
    Come out from under your bed today...... DO SOMETHING!

Jun 2008
    Yarnell,AZ and Titusville,FL
    Right now: Garrett GTA 500, ACE 250, Fisher Impulse 8, Gold Bug 2, Whites GMT, Vibraprobe 570, and Falcon MD20
    1650 times
    Coinshooting, Gold prospecting, and Nuggetshooting
    Honorable Mentions (1)