D'Iberville MS
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Equinox 800
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I am thinking of up-grading from my Ace 250 to a mid level Detector. Looking at AT PRO or similar. Anyway I have read lots of forums and comparisons of detectors. What I think I have gleaned from the different posts is the kind of detector is more of what is personal preference and skill level with the detector of choice. I have been detecting daily for about 3 months now and even with my ACE 250 I rarely dig tabs or cans. It takes a combination of the nickel sound and a quick glance at the screen to decide whether to dig or not to dig. I test my observations often to make sure what I think is trash really is and in the past two days I have plucked 35 nickels.

From what I have read there are many long time detectorists on here and each guy has his own preference. I have watched side by side tests on many detectors and more often than not the detector that fails is not the guy doing the test his favorite. So what I am seeing is you get what you pay for and without much detail I have had two owners of detector stores recommend the same detector as the next one to move up to.

I think ground balance would be one of the most important features. My ACE 25O acts different in different soils and i pick up on it quickly so I have to pay more attention to what it tells me.

So I am actually torn on which detector to up-grade to. I am looking at Garrett, Fisher, Minelab and Whites and not counting out the others either. It's like trying to pick one desert when you have a choice of 50 but can only have one. Trying to get the best bang for my buck in the $600 range.

So as usual I did a whole lot of blabbing without saying much. I am wondering if others feel if most detectors in a price range perform about the same and it's more choice of brand.

Upvote 0

kayden

Bronze Member
Apr 24, 2011
Pennsylvania
Detector(s) used
Ace250,AT Pro & Garrett Propointer!