Considering a Whites 5900 DI

New Orleans Relic

Jul 17, 2012
New Orleans burb
Detector(s) used
At-Pro, Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I see an ad for a Whites 5900 for $100. Headphones, 2 coils and a case included. Want to get one for a friend that thinks she wants to beach/relic shallow hunt with me. Wondering its ease of use, weight, and if it does well. Arn't these analog machines? Started production in the mid 80's. When were they discontinued? Who has/had one of these? Any replies will help.
Ray

Upvote 0

digitall

May 29, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes the 5900 di is discontinued. It's still an excellent machine I've been using that detector for 18 years I still have it and it works great though now I use a Mxt. The 5900 is a fast swing compared to new machines hope this helps.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
Are you talking about the last generation of the 5900, which had the 950 loop? If so, they were the same as the 6000 Di pro, except that they had no auto ground track.

It would be an excellent all-around machine. Except that without auto-ground-track, you wouldn't want to use it on the wet salt beaches. You'd end up having to continually ground balance, and would never know when you drifted, etc... So it's not a good wet salt machine. But for regular land and/or freshwater beaches, it'll be a great machine. Not as deep seeking, or as fast processing as other machines that came later. But for a general all-purpose machine, a good machine.

OP
OP
N

New Orleans Relic

Jul 17, 2012
New Orleans burb
Detector(s) used
At-Pro, Fisher F2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Are you talking about the last generation of the 5900, which had the 950 loop? If so, they were the same as the 6000 Di pro, except that they had no auto ground track.