Getting back into the hobby, need help.

ZachSS

Jan 20, 2013
Hey my name is Zach and this is my first time on here and I'd greatly appreciate some advice on how to pick out a Detector well suited for my area.

I live in an area south of St. Louis, Missouri.
1.It's a hilly terrain.
2.The type of soil that corn and other crops have no problem going in (not sure what kind that would be)
3. Can be very rocky, since all the caves in the area.
4. Small creek beds.
Those are mostly the areas I will be hunting in.

Price around $300 would be perfect, just to start off and I want a detector that can find just about any type of coin, jewelry, or relic even gold would be nice. Haha if that's possible.

If you need more information to help me with please ask! Thanks.

Upvote 0

Hendrix

Jan 8, 2007
Southeast Texas
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Whites V3i
Minelab X-Terra Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
There are some Garretts and Tesoros in that range that I've heard a lot of good stuff about. I've had personal experience with Garrett detectors and like them.

Younghunt

May 14, 2011
Clarkesville ga/ Ringgold ga
Detector(s) used
bounty hunter fast tracker, now garrett at pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The garrett ace 250 is a great start out mechine. I would also greatly recommed the garrett pro pointer to if you get a detector. HH

OP
OP
ZachSS

ZachSS

Jan 20, 2013
Hendrix said:
I've had personal experience with Garrett detectors and like them.
Which Garrett detectors would those be? Thanks!

And I did look at the Garret 250 and that's been the one I been leaning towards so far.. Would you recommend a 200 detector and a 50 to 100$ Pinpointer?

coketab

Jan 2, 2013
Are you hunting in the Ozark mountain area. I would go with the Garrett 2500 or gmh cxiii I live in Texas and does good with the clay and really stony ground

OP
OP
ZachSS

ZachSS

Jan 20, 2013
coketab said: