Rookie needs help

Wisc.

Mar 5, 2013
Fond du Lac,Wisc.
Detector(s) used
Minelab X-Terra 705
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone...so I'm new to the world of metal detecting though I've been surfice hunting indian artifacts for over 30 yrs. I've wanted to metal detect for years & now is the time for me to dive into this hobby. I"ve been doing alot of research on metal detectors & a'm trying to figure out what detector is the best for my needs. I can afford a detector in the $800.00 range & plan on using it for coins,relics,etc.There are so many to choose from that my head is swimming in the choises of makes & models.So the detectors I have in mind at this time are: #1 Fisher F70 #2 Minelab X-Terra 705 & #3 Garrett AT Pro. They all are good machines from what I've read but is there another out there that I'm not seeing? Is depth of baried treasure a big consideration? I do not want to buy a entry level detector & then wish I had gone a notch better. Thanks for any help from a rookie....Wisc.

Upvote 0

GrizLeeBear

Jan 18, 2013
Full Time In An RV
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 1500
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Each of us will tend to tell you to get the brand we have. I like Garrett for beginners, as they are user friendly. The AT-Pro is versatile and it works. I do not intend this in any way as a downer to any other detector. No matter what you get, practice, practice, practice. Successful detecting is a skill acquired through using the machine. Plant both good and trash targets and learn how your detector sees them. Happy Hunting.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting