Are silver coins usually deeper than clad?

River Rat82

Tenderfoot
Mar 13, 2013
Got permission to hunt a old school yard that they are about to tear down kids still go to the newer part next to the old site founds tons of clad coins but no silver school has been there since the 40s went with my dad and a friend we all just got into MD we don't have real good MD i have a coinmaster pro dad has a tek alpha 2000 and my friend has a tek delta 4000 so do you think they are to deep for ours or has some one done got them out a while ago was thinking with all that clad there had to be some silver well i was hoping :)

Upvote 0

Jay In NewKen

Jun 24, 2012
New Kensington, Pa
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Too deep? It's hard to say because soil conditions matter. My first thought would be no, there might be some older coins there. Just put in some time and you'll be rewarded eventually. You'd be surprised as you can pull old coins at 4". You just never know.

Critical Recovery

Oct 31, 2012
Michigan
Detector(s) used
White's MXT pro, MXT and DFX, Fisher F5
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Yes.
Silver is generally pre 1964.

The older, the deeper..

Generally....

jayg

Mar 12, 2013
I would say yes . the silver I've found are 4 -5 deep . clads are usually 3 and less. but you never know. gd lk & hh

TreasurePirate69

Jan 20, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
As has already been said, it "all depends". I've seen people pull silver out of the ground at 1" and one foot to the side of that target was a clad quarter at 6". Unless you are willing to spend the money to buy a "deeper" machine then all you can really do is try and find out. Yes, you might miss some really deep targets. But there is no guarantee that you wouldn't miss them anyway with a deeper machine.