Advice for detecting a baseball field.

Jay In NewKen

Jun 24, 2012
New Kensington, Pa
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
This might seem like an obvious question, but need some advice. The park I've been hitting has a baseball field thats been there for 50+ years and it's BIG. I'm not sure if it's still in use, so i concentrated around the bleachers which are only down the first base line. Not much goin on there. Some clad, but not much. Should i start detecting the outfield? Right field is adjacent to the rest of the park, left field, is again a hillside with no bleachers where the park ends. Hard to think outside the box when the box is huge!

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Jay

Upvote 0

mmelugin

Feb 8, 2013
Detector(s) used
MXT
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The ball field I hunt is around the same age too and has been reconfigured a few times. What is bleachers noe used to the outfield and home plate was deep center. I find some old stuff out in the field as well as newer clad and jewelry too. So check it all out. Ask someone who has been around where there might have been old bleachers. Good luck

firemac

Bronze Member
Apr 14, 2012
Irving Texas and the beach
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro Garrett pro pointer Minelab Etrac & excal ll
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
check the hill side in left field,where people would sit and watch

Mzjavert

Silver Member
Oct 7, 2011
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Mark IV
Garrett Ace 350
Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting