My yard hates me

Durt McGurt

Apr 16, 2013
Illinois
Detector(s) used
Ace250
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Sup everybody, I'm new to the hobby and this site, but I've always loved old items and I've been trolling around the forums the past few months and I love it. Very informative and everyone here seems super supportive and awesome. I just got an Ace250 and here in Central IL, it's just now getting nice enough to tolerate being outside. My first day out in my yard I found a zinc glass lid liner to a Ball mason jar, and from the text on it and about an hour of online research I deduced that style was produced from 1920-1933. Pretty stoked with that find, especially on day 1. Since then, I've had less luck (it seems whoever owned the house before me liked to shred beer cans with the lawn mower), and one thing that's been consistent are seemingly false signals. The thing will beep like crazy, I'll dig a plug, and about 90% of the time, it's telling me the item is in the plug. Problem is, nothing's there! I've destroyed many plugs in looking for these ghost objects, and my yard is starting to look like a dug up minefield. I've got the sensitivity turned down to 3 notches. I've only dug in my own yard, as my parents and friends have seen the way it now looks and won't let me dig in theirs :laughing7: My house was built in 1910, so I'd like to believe there was an outhouse in the yard at some point. I'll keep on digging until the city tickets me for having the shittiest yard in town, but if any old pros have some tips or knowledge they'd like to share, it'd be much appreciated. Looking forward to getting to know yall!

Upvote 0

robgwv

Feb 17, 2013
west virginia
Detector(s) used
fisher f2
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting