QUESTION FOR THE PROS

hunter_46356

Feb 12, 2012
Indiana/Florida
Detector(s) used
NOx 800, AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Definitely not a Pro and I've only found one silver ring, I'd look at the finds in the Beach and Shallow Hunting forum and I think you will find your answer. Jewelry on body parts and Water just don't seem to mix.

DangerDude

Apr 6, 2013
Wisconsin
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, BH IV, Fisher F2 and Garrett pro pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm not a pro be any means. Here's my advice if you want it. Funny thing is I've found 2 rings in my backyard, the rest have been at baseball and soccer fields. Any place like that is always a good place to start as well as any public beaches. I live in the Midwest and there's plenty of lakes that have a public swimming area, the shallow areas usually hold some items. Do some map research on your area and find those really old public gathering places and your bound to come up with something.

treasurehound

Bronze Member
Jan 23, 2008
Morristown, Tennessee
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab GPX 4500,
Minelab Equinox 800,
Garrett AT GOLD with NEL coil,
Garrett Sea Hunter
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
If you are mainly looking for jewelry then think of places where they may be lost. Of course beaches are going to be at the top but you mentioned some of the other sites to look for. I have found most of my jewelry in the tot lots. One time I found 5 rings in one very small tot lot. I also have found rings and necklaces in football fields and baseball fields. Keep in mind gold rings are going to give the same VDI as a pull tab so you will have to dig a lot of trash.

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2
answer

Where is the best place for jewelry finds? School yards, Soccer fields, Totlots or where?

Coin_Peeper

The answer is: Swimming beaches.

a) cool waters shrink fingers.