NCHunter

Tenderfoot
Jun 29, 2013
Detector(s) used
Garrett GTI 1500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new here :)

Hello everyone this is my first time posting here. I have been looking around the forum for a while and finally decided to go out and get a metal detector yesterday. I am only 18 so I was on kind of a budget so I hope you guys can tell me if I got a good deal for this:
It's a Garrett gti 1500 with two coils and headphones I got for $250. If anyone could tell me anything about the detector or how to use it, and if I got a good price?
photo.JPG

I know a lot of you guys out there are a little older and more experienced but I am really initerested in this hobby because of the history. I just would like someone to tell me or show me how I can get started. I really want to learn this so if someone also had any suggestions on how to start I would really appreciate it :). Also I'm near the Charlotte area of NC if that could help.

It's good to be here on TreasureNet! :)

Upvote 0

Dak

May 26, 2013
Connecticut
Detector(s) used
Garrett Sea Hunter XL 500
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I watched a lot of you tube videos recently. Right on the Garrett site there are numerous videos on how to. Joining a local club is another good way of learning as most are more than happy to help someone get started.

Jay In NewKen

Jun 24, 2012
New Kensington, Pa
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett Ace 250, Pro-Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Welcome to TNet, NCHunter. I'm not familiar with the GTI series, but you won't know until you read up on how to use it. I'd recommend finding a users manual online if available or contact the manufacturer for one. Learn everything about the machine and practice in your yard. This will give you experience with the MD and also on how to cut nice plugs that won't damage the grass.