Jan 20, 2013
Isle Of Anglesey
Detector(s) used
Minelab E-Trac
GTX3030
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi everyone.

I've been using my e-trac for a couple of years now and have not strayed too far from the factory settings.

I've just obtained permission for a field that has been the site of an annual fair for over 500 years. it has never been detected on before and I started on it today. The problem is that I was getting hundreds of coin signals all over the field. I dug 25 coins within an area of 2 or 3 yards diameter. This field is absolutely loaded with probably thousands of coins.

The problem is 24 of the coins were modern coinage and I only found one silver coin of any age (1902 sixpence)

I intend to tackle this field over the next few months and what I would like to do initially is set my e-trac up to only find silver or gold coins and ignore bronze because I am sure that the modern coin signals are masking deeper coins and therefore older coins.

I would appreciate any advice on setting the machine up to achieve this.

Regards
Frank

Upvote 0

elijahhenry10

Jan 24, 2012
South-Western PA
Detector(s) used
Fisher F-75

Teknetics Omega 8000

Bounty Hunter Quickdraw II
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Not sure how to offer you help, but sounds like a great place to hunt.

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'd dig them all on a site like that! Start with a small area and remove EVERY target and see what you come up with. If you leave surface coins, they'll mask the better ones underneath. That sounds like a coin hunters dream site!

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used