borntohunt460

Jul 30, 2013
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Need help with pointers of detecting an 1850's home/farm site

To start off Im not a complete beginner (Ive had my Tesoro Umax since 2011 and detected on and off) I recently bought an At pro and have been learning in parks, tot lots , and my usual spots. Im looking to get advice in techniques, approaches for trashy areas, and general suggestions for old sites.

Ive happened upon what I hope to be the holy grail of sites-- house has been there since at least 1860's, the property is abandoned (there are seven buildings, most look to be newer like the late 40's), and since the city has noted it as abandoned they posted a note on the door saying theyre going to do general upkeep which includes the mowing. So I have close cut grass that undoubtedly will hold the old coins im looking for.

Problem is I've spent 4 hours there today and 3 hours there yesterday and didn't find a single old coin. The older house seen in the pic below seems to have had a lot of changes. 1. I think they changed it into a garage; notice the garage door at front 2. They have a newer side garage that's cinder blocks and newer 3. The rafters inside are charred telling me it was on fire at some point. 4. Chimney and other aspects look newer 5. Siding is plywood? That being said the front yard is as if someone set off a bomb full of iron and it covers the ground. My idea was to just take my time and weed out the iron nails that have the halo effect and eventually id find something good---- I found a whole lot of trash and nothing was that deep.

I think another factor is the new At Pro that Im using. I have about 40 hours on it and I think I have a reasonable hang of it, at least to the point I can find old stuff that's down deep.