OZARKS

Banned
Sep 16, 2013
USA
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, AT PRO, Fisher F44,F2, F5, E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have permission to detect an old ghost town. The main area I will be hunting was where one of the first buldings was in 1881. This town was established around 1860, and was gone by 1940 or so. All that is there now is some remnants of foundations. I have been detecting for three years, so I am not going into this blindly, but I do have a question on "what would you do?"

Since this is a fairly large area, I was curious, should I first hit it with my 8 inch coil on the F2, or should I mount the 4 in sniper? The thing is, when I detect larger areas I like to use the 8 inch coil, and I do pretty good with it. Reason for using the 8in coil in a larger area like this is because with the smaller coil I tend to drift from my grid more often, and I tend to get overwhelmed feeling like I have to try and cover such a large area with a 4in coil. With the 8 in coil in my soil I tend to have minimal if any chatter, and I have done well with the 8in coil. I understand how the sniper and 8 in coil are different, and what their strength and weaknesses are, but I just wanted to hear some trains of thought from others.

My plan right now is to have the 8in coil mounted, and the sniper coil in my backpack with me... anyway, what would you do?8-)

Thanks in advance for your suggestions and thoughts!

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Spectre

Sep 13, 2013
Middle TN
Detector(s) used
White's 5900Di Pro SL
White's 6000Di S3 (Modified)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would first start with the 8 to get a more generalized condition of the ground and cover more area first. Remember to not allow bias to influence you into switching to the 4'' to soon. Areas such as up against the foundation, within the foundation area, or possible trash dumps could convince you (incorrectly, too soon) to switch to the 4'' and lower the amount of ground you can cover.