Need advise on moving target?

DiggerGal

Oct 12, 2013
California
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm so confused and a little frustrated. I am very new to this hobby and I am noticing that yesterday and today, when I am passing over a high pitch tone (low and slow) my MD will read 3 out of 6 times. I change directions, nothing happens. I redirect the same way as the first and nothing but now the reading is happening above or below the original point.
Turned the detector off and on and same thing happens.
Perhaps it's the coil? So confused. Your experience and advise is appreciated.
Thanks!

Upvote 0

toe2short

May 28, 2013
NJ
Detector(s) used
Minelab safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What type of MD? Can you adjust your sensitivity? Are you in an area that has a lot of junk? It can be a number of things.

OP
OP
DiggerGal

DiggerGal

Oct 12, 2013
California
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
What type of MD? Can you adjust your sensitivity? Are you in an area that has a lot of junk? It can be a number of things.

I have a Bounty Hunter Treasure Hunter. I have set the sensitivity at about 3:00 position and lower it when I have a hard time pin pointing the target.
Another thing I noticed is now when I lay it down it also will just chirp at times when the coil is not engaged with the ground. I have unplugged the coil, power off and on etc. :(
No change

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting