new to the site and metal detecting hobby

bluedragon2k9

Greenie
Oct 30, 2013
ohio
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well i am a newbie to the site just made an account last night been reading a bunch of posts for the past few days.
I have just got interested in the metal detecting hobby.I am looking to buy my first metal detector ever and it looks like due to funds i am goign to be stuck with the bounty tracker iv from hobby lobby.
I have read mixed reviews on here about this unit.SO im hoping ill be able to actually get a good start in the hobby with it.
I have went on a few hunts with some friends basically just helped them dig and thats what has sparked the interest in me to try it out for myself.
So im looking for some tips and opinions on the bounty tracker iv that i will be ordering and any tips on where i should be looking for coins and etc.
thanks for taking your time to read my rambling.Looking froward to the tips from you guys.

Upvote 0

locater

Aug 13, 2013
Great Lakes State
Detector(s) used
CTX 3030, Whites GMT, BH Platinum w/ Fisher F5, 11" DD coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to the hobby bluedragon2k9. Can't help you much with the tracker iv, never used one. A good place to start detecting is playgrounds and ballfields/parks. Mostly newer clad coins and occasional jewelry. Finds are mostly closer to the surface. Good way to get to know your machine and how it reacts to different coins and also junk. Make sure you overlap your coil swings to get full coverage with the concentric coil of your machine. Good Luck, hope you enjoy the hobby.

vpnavy

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jun 15, 2008
York County, PA (USA)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
pennsylvania.gif
1st - Noticed this is your very first post. So, welcome aboard from the great state of Pennsylvania (USA).
reading_01.gif