Keep digging?

R

redstarr

I am very new to metal detecting (in fact mostly what I've detected has been my own yard and the surrounding alley way) and am using a very cheap Bounty Hunter metal detector. My metal detector signals like crazy over one spot up against the side of my house. The spot is against the wall, near where a gutter drains out, near where the air conditioning unit currently is. The house was built in 1888. I dug down about two or so feet down(as deep as I could dig with a hand spade while laying on the ground). On the way down, I found a few junk objects like nails and a hinge, but nothing substantial, but even after removing the junk finds, the metal detector still signals strongly like it's finding something. I wouldn't think it would be picking up something any deeper than that,would it? Nothing else the MD has signalled on has been that deep under the ground. Could it be something like a sewer pipe or something (though it doesn't signal like that anywhere else where near my house)? Or should I break out the big shovel and dig a big hole? It wouldn't have to be a wide hole because the signal pinpoints fairly precisely. I don't want to dig a deep hole in my own yard if it's probably just a gas line or something. Anyone had the same type of signal near their house? Should I keep digging or ignore it?

Upvote 0
W

Wolfmight

yes, I'm new too and I also use a BountyHunter. There's a spot next to our shed that signals the Silver Detection like crazy and I dug a 1x1 foot hole..about 1 ft deep and the signal is still there...don't know how deep to dig really, but I'm working on it. Hopefully a shiny piece of silver down there.

I'm thinking about getting some fine metal screen and building a dirt sifter (or whatever they call them) to screen the dirt for objects.
I feel my fingers miss about half the objects trying to screen the dirt themselves.

;D I have found an antique sun dial near the same area though.

nc-joe

Dec 1, 2006
Concord, NC