ZenoSilver

Tenderfoot
Aug 9, 2012
Upstate South Carolina
Detector(s) used
Radioshack Discovery
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
This is my first time back here in over a year. I'm at a point in my life where I'm ready to take metal detecting seriously. I got places and plans. The last time I was on this site was when I was finding raw silver up on the Chattooga river in South Carolina. Not long after that I moved back to Florida. I did some beach detecting and never found anything good. Enough change to buy a 6 pack at the end of the day usually. In the spring I was in a bad car accident that left me broke and jobless, and my metal detector was destroyed. Now I'm back in South Carolina with treasure on my mind. I found my old radioshack detector in my fathers attic. After replacing the battery leads, which were eaten by mice, I fired it up and went out back and dug up an antique toy car. I've been kinda busy since then but now that it's winter I have no excuse not to detect every day. So, I went out for an hour before sundown today and talked to a neighbor two houses down who said I could scan his yard. Here's my first find of the season-
Excuse the phone pics

1466127_429490630512927_808205673_n.jpg
1486812_429490597179597_1778449518_n.jpg

When I dug it up It looked like a play old brass button. After washing it in the sink I could see a few words on the back. I got a green scrubby pad and went to work carefully removing the clay and corrosion. At first I thought it was an anchor on the front but my little bro flipped it over and said it looked like a tree. After a little research I found that it was a c. 1850 South Carolina civil war button.
Yay me :)

This is my first historical find and I am now extremely motivated to get out and treasure hunt all winter!

Plans for tomorrow are a quick scan of the same property and then an old plantation house built in 1753.

Upvote 0

Tired Rooster

Nov 6, 2011
Alabama
Detector(s) used
Minelabs and Tesoros
Several of them....