May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus II v0.6 with 11" Coil
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have no experience in this machine, but the best thing you can do is dig it, forget what its telling you, just work out the SOUNDS.

OP
OP
N

Nick150

Jan 4, 2014
Its pretty accurate when it discriminates but its the confusing mixed signals. If I dig everything will I not just end up with a pocket full of rusty scrap?

CRUSADER

Gold Member
May 25, 2007
ENGLAND
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Its pretty accurate when it discriminates but its the confusing mixed signals. If I dig everything will I not just end up with a pocket full of rusty scrap?

Trust me I end up with pouchs of crap every day I hunt. On average about 20 pieces for every 1 keeper. They should call the trash digging & not treasure hunting. My best advice is spend time speeding up your recovery of the objects, it generally takes me about 20 seconds or less from the beep to pouch. When your quick the finds will flow. Accept that you are going to dig plenty of crap. I enjoy clearing it off the land & on a good site when you return year after year on the same spot, you will not have to hear it again.

luvsdux

Bronze Member
May 16, 2007
Lewiston, Idaho
Detector(s) used
Multiple Tesoros and Whites
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
If you are hunting trashy areas, the trash may be masking good targets giving you mixed signals. If that's the case, a smaller coil will help.
luvsdux

khouse

Dec 6, 2006
You need to reduce your sensitivity. The Ace series are very sensitive. It's not unusual to reduce the sens to 4 bars to eliminate deep iron rusty crap. Try running your sens to 3 or 4 bars in trashy sites. You will still get decent depth at these settings.

OP
OP
N

Nick150

Jan 4, 2014