beginner needs help

Goldmedalexchange

Aug 31, 2012
St Louis
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Im just getting into detecting again and I just recently pulled out my old whites prism 2. I have permission to detect the well used volleyball courts at my local vfw.

My question s are these

Im looking to get an at pro in a few months, but what kind of comparative quality do I have with my prism 2?

Also, will my prism2 have any problems with the sand of a volleyball court and what level of discrimination will I need to use to find gold?

Thanks for your help,
Jerry

Upvote 0

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If these are sand courts, I run the machine with no discrimination and as hot as you can without it falsing. If it's a grass court, I would disc out iron and the smallest foil targets but nothing else if you want to find gold. The Prism was a decent machine in it's day but the AT Pro is much better....perfomance-wise. Quality is about the same.....both very good. The E-trac, V3i, CTX, etc, are better still, if you can afford one.

OP
OP
G

Goldmedalexchange

Aug 31, 2012
St Louis
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I took a stab at it this afternoon for about 2 hours and came up with $3.24 in change. Very little in crap/scrap and the coolest find was a sterling st michael medal.

Im planning on going again in the next few days so hopefully I can hit the parts I wasnt able to cleanly sweep and find those few rings I know have been lost there.

SusanMN

Silver Member
Jun 1, 2007
Minnesota
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark, Xterra 705, Makro Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting