Odd problem with Garrett Pro-Pointer

BladeRunner2019

Dec 22, 2013
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have been using my PP for a little over 4 months. I have not had any issues with it until recently. The audio alert has started sounding like something is loose inside. It's hard to explain but it definitely doesn't sound like it did when I first got it. I searched the web to see if I could find any others with a similar issue but didn't find anything.

It is still be working, but it doesn't seem quite as sensitive as before. It's also possible I am imagining it's not as sensitive because I am having the other issue. :dontknow:

I have emailed Garrett and will be sending it in, but I was curious if anyone had heard of a similar problem with the PP.

Upvote 0

BigWaveDave

Gold Member
Nov 22, 2013
Mountain Maryland
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, AT Max, Minelab
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
probably some dirt/dust building up inside, that is my guess, as it seems to be happening to mine as well.

OP
OP
BladeRunner2019

BladeRunner2019

Dec 22, 2013
North Carolina
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Forgot to mention in my original post, I have tried 2 new batteries to see if that might be part of the problem.

Otsego digger

Aug 4, 2013
My brother just called me last night and said his pro pointer no longer makes a sound it just vibrates. I told him when he first got it to cover the speaker hole with electrical tape,he didn't listen. This works great and you can still here it loud and clear. Going on 3 years with mine and no issues.

falconman515

Mar 28, 2014
Fresno, CA.
Detector(s) used
Saving My Pennies ...........

For an XP Deus w/ 11" coil
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting