Clad or can tabs? That is the question.

Wilton_Kayne

Apr 10, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hello, I am still new to metal detecting but I am hooked. In the future I intend to do like anyone trying progress in a hobby, buy better equipment. My 401k idea like most, is to save all of my clad towards this effort. As for another possible saving opportunity, how about can tabs? I've heard that a gallon of the little turds are worth a significant amount and I find a lot more of those than I do clad. Does anyone know if this is true? And if so what is the going rate? Also are larger tabs acceptable? (ex.- sardine and 70's beer can tabs) Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Upvote 0

Normsel

Bronze Member
Sep 10, 2012
D'Iberville MS
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac
Equinox 800
Equinox 600
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Tabs are aluminum, what's aluminum worth

OP
OP
W

Wilton_Kayne

Apr 10, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
After reviewing this on the internet, I gotta say the hoax got me.

RobRieman

Silver Member
Nov 12, 2012
Cincinnati Ohio
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
White's V3i / Minelab E-trac
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
It's a hoax. Save the cans you find, there is about 50 times the value of scrap aluminum in each one.

DDancer

Bronze Member
Mar 25, 2014
Traveling US to work
Detector(s) used
Current Equinox 600
Past Whites DFX Garret GTI 2500 and others
Prospecting Minelab GPZ 7000
Past SD 2100 GP 3000 (retired)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting