Breakthrough

Escape

Bronze Member
Apr 4, 2009
A week ago I was seriously considering selling my Whites DFX which Iā€™ve had for a couple of years. I thought it was too complicated and heavy. I have the Digging Deeper book, but the amount of information it contained was overwhelming. (There should be a guide book to help you understand that book.) So I just basically ran the stock programs. Worked well at the beach, but at my local trashy park, discerning the multitude of signals was daunting. Dug lots of trash for relatively few coins.
I decided to give it one more shot. I studied the book and learned its capabilities and how to move through the programs. I took it to my local trashy park. To keep it simple I set it to except +74 to +95 and increased AC sensitivity, Pre Amp and DC Phase. Wow! What a difference! In two hours I dug up about 30 coins consisting of about 8 wheat pennies, one mercury dime and one silver school ring. I was amazed how solid it ran. Dug very little trash. Had similar results the following day. I know Iā€™m missing a lot with this much discrimination, but Iā€™m also finding a lot. Many of the targets were deep. Ground was wet.

As far as the detector being too heavy, I fixed that. I adjusted the extension pole and made it shorter. Duh! Now its weight is balanced. No arm strain at all. The only thing strained are my ham strings from digging up all those coins.

Upvote 0

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
šŸ„‡ Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2