1842 Church

nsm1978

Jan 4, 2013
Hey everyone, I posted this before but haven't got many responses, figure I would repost here. Im very new at MD, using Ace 250. I received permission from an old church, actually the oldest church in the county. Built in 1787, but was struck by lighting and burned down and rebuild in 1842. I walked around the grounds and cemetery getting lots of hits like Iron/foil, found some coins, 1930 mercury dime, nothing to crazy. Found an old copper serving spoon which dates back to an old inn for sailors. The church has also granted me access to the basement which is cement but has a large crawl space, I will try to get you a pic. You think it is worth it? I will probably get a lot of hits from nails, etc. most hits are reading 8+ outside. I'm not sure if I'm able to dig 8 inches. I also get a hit, dig 6 inches, put my Pinpointer (Garrett) in ground and it deeps a little, it's really frustrating. Does that mean it's really old. The ground has not been disturbed according to the church. Please help.

Upvote 0

BryanM362

Mar 22, 2013
Cincinnati, OH
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
E-Trac with Sun Ray probe, Garrett AT Pro, White's Classic SL, Garret Pro-pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I would it's worth a try. What do you have to lose?

One of the best sites I have ever detected was an old school. If you are not finding much it was probably detected in the past. That doesn't mean you can't still find stuff, just hit it from different angles, with different size coils, different moisture content in the dirt, etc... and dig those iffy signals!

Let us know what you find.

Ism

Jun 17, 2009
Michigan
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero
Whites TDI
Minelab Sovereign GT
XP Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Your deep signals 8+ might be large targets that are way deeper than 8". One way to check is raise the coil and see how the signal drops off. If you are inexperienced, it won't take long to figure it out.