Are these good choices?

chef440rt

May 2, 2014
central MA
Detector(s) used
Keen 4'' dredge with race car stickers to make it pump faster.
Fisher CZ-21
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm new to metal detecting and I am about to buy my first one. I was thinking of getting 3 different detectors over time.

For the 1st one, I was going to get a detector that was good just for underwater/freshwater, freshwater beach and general land or woods use. For this application would the Garrett AP pro be a good choice? I was hoping to find lost coins and jewelry up to 10ft underwater and on the beach.

For the 2nd one I was going to get the Fisher CZ-21 only for salt water beaches.

And for the 3rd one I was going to get the gold bug 2 just for small nugget hunting while gold prospecting.

Please let me know your thoughts on these choices. What would you get if you had 3 dedicated detectors. My budget would be about $1000 for each one. Thanks, -Bryan

Upvote 0

Hot zone

Bronze Member
Apr 26, 2012
Clark County Washington
Detector(s) used
Tiger Shark 8" coil, vaquero 8"x9" and 5.75" WS, clean sweep coil, Gray ghost deep woods headphones

Whites TRX pointer
, Garrett gold stinger
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I love tesoro... lifetime warranty...
Tiger shark (has a salt mode too) Fresh water
Sand shark ... Salt water
Lobo ... Prospecting

redcobra8u

Bronze Member
Jan 24, 2014
Los Angeles
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal II, Garrett AT Pro, CTX3030
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting