Does anyone know what the unbranded detector is? Total Beginner.

dumpsterdiver

Dec 12, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been looking for an entry level detector for awhile now. I live in New Jersey near Washington Cross the Delaware area. And on the site of a very old horse track. I would mostly be hunting very locally. I really want the cheapest detector that will allow me to see if I like the hobby or not. I really don't want to spend $300 and not like the hobby. I've ordered stuff from this site before and its about 70% great and 30% junk. Its all made in China but hard not to find somethings made in China.

Here is the link Metal Detector with up to 1.5M (5ft) Detection at MidnightBox

Any input would be appreciated.

Upvote 0

fella

Bronze Member
Oct 24, 2012
Wisc
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I can promise you, you WON"T enjoy the hobby if you buy the cheapest piece of crap on the planet! It'll be more frustrating than anything. At least spend $100 on a cheap Bounty Hunter. It's less than $20 more!

finderskeepers

Jul 26, 2012
MA
Detector(s) used
Boxes on sticks, that go beep
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Total beginner???... I'd start with the search button.

OR donate the $100+ to your favorite charity, you'll probably feel better in the end.

Zero knowledge about the hobby or the instruments + seller who has mislead/disappointed 1 of every 3 times + using lowest price as "the biggest" determining factor = recipe for crappy times!!

CladGrabber

Oct 10, 2013
Tulsa Ok
Detector(s) used
AT PRO...Equinox 800...garrett carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Look for a used brand name detector.
I see used f2's and ace 250's on Craigslist all the time for $100-$150....so much more machine for not that much more money.
The Bounty Hunter line up also has some entry level machines in that price range.

Last edited:

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used