How can I modify a Bounty Hunter 202 to get more depth capability??

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I'm pretty new to this hobby but I'm beyond hooked. I can see why so many people start off with a simple detector and then want to upgrade in a relatively short time frame. I have two BH detectors, a Tracker IV I started off with and a BH 202 I "upgraded" to for a very small amount of money.

They both have the identical 8" coil.Don't get me wrong, I've done pretty darn good with both of these machines, I like them and I don't want to part with them, but for the old coins, I have a feeling that I'm just not getting the depth I need. I just feel that I should be finding at least SOME silver at some of my spots based on my research and the history and age of my locations but it's not showing up (yet). I'm getting wheaties and tons of clad but the older silver coins continue to elude me in normal soil.

I don't have the funds for an upgrade at this time so I'm thinking that maybe I can modify the 202 to make it better. It's definitely a more sensitive machine than the T4 but I believe there's always room for improvement.

For instance, will a 10" coil or a DD coil get me more depth?? I want to find silver and so far, all of the good silver I have found was in sand on top of red clay. IOW, they weren't really deep. Does a bigger coil mean more depth generally speaking??

I'm a low tech guy as far as electronics go but I do have a basic understanding. I'm a pretty good mechanic and if I can make this thing search deeper through some reasonably basic modification I would really like to try it.