I was kicked out Detecting a ball field...

Eagle101

Jul 22, 2012
New England
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
XP DEUS, Minelab Equinox 800, Garrett AT Gold,
Garrett AT Pro. Makro racer.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have been detecting for 3 years. I've hit my town pretty hard. So today i thought i would go to a park that i haven't hit yet and detect around some picnic tables and the basketball court. I was there for about 1 1/2 hours and doing pretty good. I found 67 coins nothing great but it was fun. Then all of a sudden a DPW worker comes up to me waving his finger like i'm a 12 year old kid saying "you can't be doing that" So i said "who says i can't". He replied that there's a town ordinance:evil5:. I'm pretty sure there's not. He said that the town owns the land and i have to leave. I said i paid $7100 a year in property taxes and it's my land not the towns and that he works for me :BangHead:. So i left there pretty pissed. I wasn't on the baseball fields. I filled my holes perfect. Am i in the wrong???:icon_scratch: I really feel bad for this generation. It seems like all they do is make laws to screw us now.

Upvote 0

3stooge

Greenie
Apr 20, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't think I would argue with the guy. Just be polite and leave.

I would simply detect spots like that first thing in the morning when there is less chance of someone seeing me and complaining.

OP
OP
Eagle101

Eagle101

Jul 22, 2012
New England
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
It was the way the guy was talking down to me. I just found out there is no ordinance. So i'm going back this weekend and covering every square inch of that park.

kyrock

Jun 23, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I totally disagree with 3stooge. If you "know" you are in the right, I would stand my ground until someone called the law....."Never give up, never give in".

releventchair

Gold Member
May 9, 2012
Primary Interest:
Other